God Calls Each of Us

Advent A, 12-3-2013
Read Luke 1:5-12, 26-30; Isaiah 54:1-10

God calls me many times during my life. God keeps calling me, hoping for a recognition and response.  Zechariah and Elizabeth were very old, yet God told them of new life that could be born to them!  I am not too old to be of concern and value –and even use – to God!  I am not too old to be called by God! And Mary was very young, yet God told her of an awesome responsibility she would carry!  I am not too young to be of concern and value – and even use –to God!  I am not too young to be called by God!

Elizabeth and Zechariah “were righteous before God, living blamelessly….”

Mary “found favor with God.”  Being righteous “before God,” being blameless, and finding favor with God do not mean the same thing as living sinlessly.  God forgives me already and accepts and loves me unconditionally, no matter what I have done or how sinful I am. God’s very call to me tells me that God has already loved and forgiven me and now has a message for me, a purpose for me, something for me to do!

10 For the mountains may depart and the hills be removed, but my steadfast love shall not depart from you, and my covenant of peace shall not be removed, says the Lord, who has compassion on you. –Isaiah 54:10

Meditate on your own status, your personal condition.  Do you consider yourself “old” or “young”? Have you considered your age to be a hindrance to your usefulness to God? Have you thought that “some day” you’ll have more time and would be better able to hear God?  But God doesn’t wait… God speaks now.

About Nancy Smith

Nancy Smith has 20 years’ experience in technical writing and management in software companies. She also has more than 20 years in Christian ministry as an educator, course designer, retreat leader, spiritual director, pastor, and coach. A United Methodist Deacon, Smith has her M.Div. from Boston University. She is a graduate of the Guild for Spiritual Guidance, and is certified in Spiritual Direction and Retreat Leadership from Boston College.
This entry was posted in Advent and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

