Leveling the Ground

Advent Week 2: Preparing the Way, Dec 11, 2013
Read Isaiah 40:4; Luke 3:2-4

This picture has always puzzled me a bit, perhaps because I see it literally.  To me, what can be more beautiful than mountains and valleys?  What can be more boring than perfectly smooth level ground?  But then I picture the arrival of the mighty King, coming swiftly and magnificently, sweeping along a straight and level highway, coming in majesty and glory!  I can see him way in the distance, robes flying, riding a magnificent horse!

Then I get past the literal visualization.  The mountains of my pride and self-importance must be brought down and the valleys of my self-rejection and despair must be raised up if I am to prepare the way for God to enter my life.

Meditation: What false standard of perfection do I set for myself during this season that builds these “mountains” higher instead of bringing them down? Against what false standards do I measure myself that deepens my valleys of self-rejection instead of raising up myself as a child of God?

Examine again the list you made:

  1. Put a “smiley face” beside each item that you genuinely enjoy and look forward to.
  2. Put a star beside each item that brings you closer to God.

About Nancy Smith

Nancy Smith has 20 years’ experience in technical writing and management in software companies. She also has more than 20 years in Christian ministry as an educator, course designer, retreat leader, spiritual director, pastor, and coach. A United Methodist Deacon, Smith has her M.Div. from Boston University. She is a graduate of the Guild for Spiritual Guidance, and is certified in Spiritual Direction and Retreat Leadership from Boston College.
This entry was posted in Advent and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

