Building a Personal Prayer 6: Confession and Desire

Amazing God, Everlasting Mother/Father,

Patient,
persistent,
pursuing Lover.

You are an awesome God,
an all-encompassing,
all-invading,
all-embracing Presence,

And you are here, with me and in me, now.

It is in you that I live and move and have my being
and apart from you I have no life at all.

I make my home in you, where I find sanctuary.

Make your home in me that I may bear fruit to your glory,
for apart from you I can do nothing.

I love you, O Lord, my strengh.
Forgive my sins. [insert specific confessions]

I love you, O Lord, my strength Psalm 18:1 (NRSV)

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my thoughts. See if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23-24 (NRSV)

I delight in you O Lord; give me the desires of my heart:

Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Psalm 37:4 (NRSV)

I delight in you O Lord; give me the desires of my heart:
To see you more clearly,
Love you more dearly,
Follow you more nearly,
Day by day.

The last part of this prayer, made popular in the musical Godspell (1971), is attributed to Richard of Chichester (1197 – 3 April 1253) as follows:

Thanks be to Thee, my Lord Jesus Christ
For all the benefits Thou hast given me,
For all the pains and insults Thou hast borne for me.
O most merciful Redeemer, friend and brother,
May I know Thee more clearly,
Love Thee more dearly, Follow Thee more nearly.[1]


[1] Bullock-Webster. p.31 Acts and Devotion. Prayer 48. Retrieved 2/9/2014


About Nancy Smith

Nancy Smith has 20 years’ experience in technical writing and management in software companies. She also has more than 20 years in Christian ministry as an educator, course designer, retreat leader, spiritual director, pastor, and coach. A United Methodist Deacon, Smith has her M.Div. from Boston University. She is a graduate of the Guild for Spiritual Guidance, and is certified in Spiritual Direction and Retreat Leadership from Boston College.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Building a Personal Prayer 6: Confession and Desire

  1. Pingback: But you don’t know what he did to me… | All Christians Should Die at Least Twice

Leave a Reply

