Inside the Fog

 The Lord went in front of them in a pillar of cloud by day, to lead them along the way, and in a pillar of fire by night, to give them light, so that they might travel by day and by night. (Exodus 13:21 NRSV)

A figure like the movie version of the Ghost of Christmas Future points its finger toward the fog and I enter it. I find myself climbing a mountain, above timberline, like a mountain from the Presidential Range in New Hampshire. My hips and legs work fine and I can remember the pleasure that comes when your legs can lift your body in such a steep climb.

I come to a slightly level, though uneven, spot partly covered with some kind of soft vegetation like moss or grass. Throughout this brief experience, I am enveloped in the fog, my pillar of cloud. There is no visibility in the area around or below this mountain — in fact, no visibility beyond about three feet from where I am.

Thus I can see neither the beautiful vistas that might be around me, nor the potential dangers that might frighten me and cause me to lose my footing. My focus is limited to the here and now, the steps and resting places of the present.

But I am in the pillar of cloud and the assurances comes:

“You’re exactly where I want you to be.”

I must keep remembering Abraham who went forth in faith to a promised, but unrevealed, land that God “will show you” sometime in the undefined future.

© Aug.1996

About Nancy Smith

Nancy Smith has 20 years’ experience in technical writing and management in software companies. She also has more than 20 years in Christian ministry as an educator, course designer, retreat leader, spiritual director, pastor, and coach. A United Methodist Deacon, Smith has her M.Div. from Boston University. She is a graduate of the Guild for Spiritual Guidance, and is certified in Spiritual Direction and Retreat Leadership from Boston College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inside the Fog

  1. Frank Ober says:

    This resonates with me. We must rust that God will keep us safe when we cannot see the way. Peace, frank

Leave a Reply

